CEFR & ACTFL Language Levels - A Quick Overview [+ INFOGRAPHIC]

1 Star
  • Save
2 Stars
  • Save
3 Stars
  • Save
4 Stars
  • Save
5 Stars
  • Save
(1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
language levels comparison
  • Save

How Can You Prove Your Language Skill Level?

Our comparison between the CEFR and the ACTFL proficiency guidelines explains all the important things you need to know

So you want to determine your Spanish language level? Or have you already reached a certain level and need to know where your level fits in with other standards? Here comes the inevitable question: how do you determine your Spanish (or any other language) level? Our post will answer all your questions.

There are two major frameworks for learning, teaching, and assessing foreign language skills and their different levels:

  • the U.S. defined the ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines
  • and in Europe, there is the Common European Framework of Reference for Language (CEFR)

Both language standards provide the basis for accredited testing and certification systems in their region. Yet, if you want to prove your language level, it can be difficult to determine which of these two frameworks is better for your language proficiency.

In this article, we will explain what the standards are and how you can compare them to know your exact language level. Afterward, you will be able to choose the most suitable Spanish course or level for you.

1. What Is ACTFL?

We could spend a long time explaining all the tidbits of the scale to you, but to be honest, you don’t need to know every single detail. So instead we’ve prepared the most important and relevant information for you.

Let’s start at the beginning: The ACTFL standards are an enhanced scale, which was developed from the previously used ILR scale in the United States. The abbreviation “ACTFL” stands for “American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages”.

The ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines are a description of the skills you have in a certain language in terms of speaking, writing, listening, and reading in daily situations in a spontaneous context. The ACTFL scale is being used to evaluate your functional language ability.

The ACTFL language levels identify five major levels of proficiency: Distinguished, Superior, Advanced, Intermediate, and Novice.

The system divides Advanced, Intermediate, and Novice into three sublevels each (High, Mid, and Low). The language levels are a scale from a native speaking language user (“Distinguished”) to an absolute Beginner (“Novice”). The graphic below states the different levels as a funnel.

  • Save

If you are really interested, you can read more about the scale, its history and development on the official ACTFL website. But for students in Europe, these levels can be quite confusing, so keep reading if you want to know how you can convert them to your usual standards.

2. What Is CEFR?

Like the ACTFL system, we don’t want to bother you with irrelevant details but give you a short overview.

The CEFR language levels were designed by the Council of Europe. The abbreviation “CEFR” stands for “Common European Framework of Reference” and is the most widely accepted European standard for measuring language proficiency. Therefore, if you are coming from the U.S. this is probably new for you. But don’t worry, we’ve created a graphic in the next chapter to compare your ACTFL level with the CEFR scale.

The CEFR divides its language proficiency into six levels, which range from A1 to C2, where A1 would be a total beginner and C2 describes a mastery level.

These six divisions can be regrouped into three broader levels: Basic User (A1 & A2), Independent User (B1 & B2) and Proficient User (C1 & C2). The different levels all have fully elaborated descriptions and are defined through ‘can-do’ factors. The graphic below states the different CEFR levels.

  • Save

3. How Can You Compare Them?
[Graphic Included]

Now to the most important part of our post. How can you transfer your language level to one of the other scales? And what should you keep in mind?

First of all, language proficiency is not a strict principle which holds for every language and every individual. It is rather a continuum, and as such there will be no perfect division of levels.

The ACTFL (formerly ILR) and CEFR language level skills each focus on slightly different aspects of your language proficiency. As such, it was hard to do a perfect comparison, but based on the official ACTFL to CEFR assignment and our rich experience as a language school we created the following graphic to save you the hassle of doing this extensive research.

Infographic language levels
  • Save

As you can see in the graphic you can’t transfer all 11 ACTFL levels exactly to the six CEFR levels, but this graphic is a very good orientation. Also because of these inaccuracies we have developed something to determine your level even more precisely.

We design our Spanish classes according to CEFR language levels. However, we also developed a more detailed unique teaching method, where we took the European framework and divided it into 48 language sub-levels. Each sub-level has its own content, learning objectives and an exam at the end. The first 24 levels lead you to Spanish fluency.

Keep on reading to learn more about how our online classes work! 😉

4. Try Our Online Spanish Classes

Let’s show you what makes “¡Hablemos Español! – Let’s Speak Spanish!” a fantastic way to learn Spanish.

First of all, our offers are based on the 24 Level System to Spanish Fluency

Before taking any classes or courses with us we need to know your exact level of Spanish. So, we created a free placement test.

Our unique level system allows you to really get in depth when learning Spanish, rather than a standard three level system. After taking the test you can choose from a variety of ways to learn online, such as general Spanish lessons, conversation lessons, tutored courses or resource sheets that help you learn at your own pace. 

Besides the conversation lessons, we use for all the other live classes, the latest technology; a virtual classroom with white board and co-browsing technology.

Our tutored 2-week courses consist of a unique combination of self-learning, webinars and teacher and community support. Thanks to our clearly defined 24 levels, it’s a lot easier to ‘level up’. Follow the course through and in just 2 weeks you can reach the next level! Having the next goal always in sight keeps you motivated through the whole journey to Spanish fluency.

Sounds interesting? Check out the different options by clicking on the links above and leave us a comment below if you have questions!

  • Save
Want to learn Spanish
the fastest way possible?
With a flexible class schedule, you decide when's the best time to take private Spanish lessons!

We teach you according to our 24 Level System to Spanish Fluency, where we clearly define your next goals to be accomplished fast so you stay motivated all the way to Spanish fluency. 

  • Save

2 thoughts on “CEFR & ACTFL Language Levels – A Quick Overview [+ INFOGRAPHIC]”

  1. A question about the exams. I will live only in Latin America after 2025, is the CEFR exam similar to the DELE exam? I keep being told that unless I plan on speaking with the ‘vosotros’ form, I need to study Latin American Spanish. I will live in Colombia and it’s really tough to find materials for a certain region. Is the CEFR accepted globally?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link